

PERALTA COLLEGES FOUNDATION Board Meeting Minutes PCF Board of Directors Re-Convening Thursday, September 12, 2024 5pm - 6pm

Summary

The PCF Board of Directors meeting began with a roll call, confirming nine members present to include Chair William Riley, Vice Chair Mahiri Wise, Treasurer Adam Sanchez, Chancellor Tammeil Gilkerson, Dyana Delfín Polk, Louis Quindlen and William P. Wilson (7 of 10).

Resignations from five board members were accepted, including Hubbert, Hunt, Swanson, Tran, and Wright.

The 2023 audit report showed no findings. The board approved the audit and appointed Zach as the new executive director.

Adam Sanchez proposed increasing the administrative fee from 5% to 10% for non-restricted funds to cover staff costs, which was tabled for further discussion.

The annual golf tournament is scheduled for May 19, 2025, with potential conflicts with college graduations.

The meeting concluded with a discussion on the need for a new ED onboarding process.

Transcript

Action Items

• Send out more information on increasing the administrative fee to the board for review before further discussion.

- Provide graduation date schedules for 2025 to Dr. Riley to avoid conflicts with the annual golf tournament.
- Make the offer to Zach to be the new executive director.
- Reschedule the annual golf tournament date if needed to avoid graduation date conflicts.

Outline

- The group discusses the number of attendees needed to proceed with the meeting.
- William Riley confirms the attendance of all members, including William Wilson, and the meeting can begin.

Roll Call and Agenda Overview

- William Riley calls for a roll call, confirming the presence of all members.
- The agenda includes three main items and two informational items.
- The meeting is recorded, and Louis Quindlen confirms he is hosting it.
- The group discusses the need for a quorum to proceed with the meeting.

Board Removal and Resignations

- William Riley mentions the need to accept the resignations of five board members.
- Wiseguy seconds the motion to accept the resignations of Hubbert, Hunt, Swanson, Tran, and Wright.
- The motion is passed without dissent, and the resignations are accepted.
- William Riley thanks the members for their participation and moves on to the next item.

2023 Audit Presentation

- Wise reports that there were no findings in the audit presented two weeks ago.
- William Riley asks if there are any concerns or questions about the audit.
- The group discusses the audit results and the absence of any issues.

• Wise motions to approve the audit as presented, which is seconded by Adam Sanchez and passed unanimously.

New Executive Director

- Wise introduces the new executive director, Zach, and explains the selection process.
- The group discusses Zach's qualifications and his interest in the position.
- Wise moves to approve Zach as the new executive director, which is seconded by Denise.
- The motion is passed with a unanimous vote, and Zach is officially approved as the new executive director.

Administrative Fee Staff Discussion

- Adam Sanchez discusses the need to increase the administrative fee from 5% to 10% to cover operational costs.
- The group discusses the current financial situation and the need for additional funds.
- Tammeil Gilkerson expresses concerns about the proposed increase and seeks clarification.
- Adam Sanchez explains that the increase would help cover operational costs.

Annual Golf Tournament

- William Riley mentions the need to avoid scheduling conflicts with college graduations.
- Tammeil Gilkerson notes that historically, one of the colleges has their graduation on the Monday of the week.
- The group discusses the potential need to reschedule the annual golf tournament.
- William Riley thanks the members for their time and patience, and the meeting concludes.

[REFERENCE NOTES]

10 MEMBERS QUORUM - 6 MEMBERS

OFFICERS

- 1. Dr. William Riley, Chair
- 2. Mahiri Wise, Vice Chair
- 3. Adam Sanchez, Treasurer
- 4. Dr. Tammeil Gilkerson, Chancellor

DIRECTORS

- 1. Sarah Chavez-Yoell
- 2. Dyana Delfín Polk
- 3. Robyn Fisher
- 4. Linda Handy
- 5. Louis Quindlen
- 6. William P. Wilson

PRESIDENTS

- Rudy Besikof, President, Laney College, President
- Melanie Dixon, President, College of Alameda
- David Johnson, President, Merritt College
- Denise Richardson, President, Berkeley City College

DEPARTING

- 1. LaSandra Hunt
- 2. Jennifer Kim-Anh Tran
- 3. Eric Wright
- 4. Sally Swanson
- 5. Seth Hubbert